Click to Home
Resident Help Center

Go To Search
Sign Hangers License
Regulations
The City of Brooklyn Center requires the licensing of sign hangers as defined in Chapter 34, Section 34-160 of its ordinance:
  • No person, firm, or corporation shall engage in the business of erecting, altering, extending, repairing, or maintaining signs or sign structures within the City of Brooklyn Center without first having procured a license therefore except that the owner, lessee, or occupant of the property upon which the sign is located may perform the actual work himself provided he has acquired a permit for the sign. The license period is May 1 through April 30.

Please complete and provide the following information: 
  • Annual License Fee - $60
  • Certificate of Insurance
  • Bond – $2,000 bond with corporate surety conditioned that the licensee will pay all permit fees required under the city ordinance, pay any fines imposed upon him for violation thereof, will conform to all provisions of the city ordinance, and will indemnify and hold the city, its officers, and agents harmless from any damages or claim resulting from or related to the erection or maintenance of any sign in the city by the licensee.
  • License Application – completed information as required in Section 34-160 of the city ordinance 
  • Minnesota Business Tax Identification Number – completed form as required by Minnesota Statute Section 270C.72, subd. 1 
  • Proof of Worker's Compensation Insurance Coverage Form – completed form as required by Minnesota Statute Section 176.182 

License Approval
Upon the Building and Community Standards Department's receipt of the above information, the license application shall be presented to the City Council for consideration at its next regular meeting. The City Council meets the second and fourth Monday of the month. License materials must be submitted at least seven days prior to a City Council meeting.

More Information
For more information relating to sign hanger's license requirements, please email the Building and Community Standards Department or call (763) 569-3330, Monday through Friday, from  8:00 am to 4:30 pm.

Application Form
Sign Permit Application